Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: Find Primary Sources Online: Newspapers

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

Schumann Library Newspaper Databases

Boston Globe (1872 - 1989) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1989 with an additional year of content added annually.

For coverage from 1997 - the present see ProQuest US Newsstream
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Access national and international news, opinion pieces, reports, reviews, and more with access to the New York Times online. Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all WIT faculty, staff, and students. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.
- New users: create a NYT account with your WIT email address.
- Existing users: sign-in with your credentials or renew your access (faculty/staff will need to renew every four years).
- Off-campus users: sign-up or sign-in using existing credentials.

How to Access Historical Newspaper Databases Online

Residents of Massachusetts may gain access by using a Boston Public Library e-card. Apply for an e-card, or renew one, here.

BPL Historical Newspapers Databases

17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
LOC: Chronicling America
Historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924.
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The Pilot, 1838-1857 (Boston, Mass.)
One thousand digitized issues of this Roman Catholic newspaper.
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Internet Newspaper Resources

The Annotated Newspapers of Harbottle Dorr, Jr.
This collection is comprised of 805 newspaper issues primarily published between 1765 and 1776 in Boston and surrounding towns.
Black Panther Newspapers and Posters Collection
The Black Panther Intercommunal News Service (1969-1973) and propaganda posters.
Black Quotidian
Historical articles from black newspapers such as the Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, and Philadelphia Tribune.
The Boston Avatar (1967-1968)
Produced by the Fort Hill Community, a cultish Boston commune centered around its leader, Mel Lyman.
The Boston Phoenix (1983-2002)
An alternative newspaper dedicated to music, politics, and the arts.
Catholic News Archive
A growing archive of digitized 19th and 20th century Roman Catholic newspapers from across the United States.
Google Newspaper Archive
An extensive collection of digitized newspapers from the United States and Canada.
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online
An exhaustive state-by-state listing of historical American newspapers that are available on the Web. Compiled by Carol Singer of Bowling Green State University, Ohio.
Historic Cambridge (Mass,) Newspaper Collection
Newspapers include the Cambridge Chronicle (1846-2015), the Cambridge Press (1887-1889), the Cambridge Sentinel (1903-1947), and the Cambridge Tribune (1887-1941).
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
A digital collection of alternative/underground press newspapers, magazines and journals. See the Titles page for the names of accessible newspapers.
JSTOR Reveal Digital: American Prison Newspapers, 1800 to the Present
A digitized collection of hundreds of newspapers from correctional institutions across the United States, with an emphasis on women's prisons.
JSTOR Reveal Digital: Independent Voices
A digitized collection of newspapers and magazines "by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
JSTOR Reveal Digital: Student Activism
Circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, ephemera; and meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.that bear testimony to college student activism in the 1960s and '70s.
The Liberator Files
Scanned images of pages from the Boston abolitionist newspaper The Liberator (1831-1865).
New York State Historic Newspapers
Searchable historic newspapers from the 18th-20th centuries in digitized form.