Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: Find Primary Sources Online: Women, Gender and Feminism : Primary Sources

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

email: library@wit.edu

Women, Gender, and Feminism Primary Sources

Andrea Dworkin Online Library
A collection of writings by radical feminist Andrea Dworkin (1946-2005).
Black Women Oral History Project Interviews, 1976–1981
Interviews with 72 African American women in fields such as education, government, the arts, business, medicine, law, and social work.
CWLU Herstory Website Project: Classic Feminist Writings
Articles, pamphlets, manifestos, and stories produced by the women's liberation movement of the 1960s and 70s.
Home Economics Archive (HEARTH)
This Cornell University digital repository provides access to hundreds of books and journals that reveal the contributions of women in public health science, hygiene, and home management during the Progressive Era.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Contains alternative feminist newspapers of the 1960s and '70s. See the Titles page for the names of accessible newspapers.
Margaret Fuller: Women in the Nineteenth Century (1850)
A foundational text in the history of American feminism by a leading member of the Transcendentalist movement.
Marxists Internet Archive Library of Feminist Writers
Selected writings of feminists of each of the “three waves” of feminist political activity (18th, 19th, and 20th centuries).
Mary Wollstonecraft, A Vindication of the Rights of Woman
A digital copy of the 1792 first edition.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
"Nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign."
Woman Suffrage and the 19th Amendment
Historical documents from the U.S. National Archives on the struggle of American women to win the right to vote.

Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of four centuries of women’s history through images, primary documents, supplementary materials, and teaching tools. Also provides access to the online version of Notable American Women and the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.

NARA: The American Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982 (Audio)
A collection of audio files from the Pacifica radio network.that document the Women’s movement and second-wave feminism.
Women's Liberation Print Culture
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.
Women in Medicine Legacy Foundation: Oral Histories
Over 30 hours of audio, complete transcripts, and additional materials including photographs, ephemera, and portraits that tell the story of women who had an impact on the field of medicine.
Women of Steel (1943)
A film on the contribution of women in steel-making during the Second World War
Women Working, 1800-1930
A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Courtesy of Harvard University.