Find Primary Sources Online

An electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Digitized journals, magazines, manifestos, and other publications promoted modernity in Europe and the America. Covers the years 1848-1923.

Open access to English texts from the 15th through the mid-17th century. HTML format.

Searchable database of 18th century texts in HTML.

A collection of digital texts covering the long 18th century.

A core collection of the 5000 most significant titles drawn from the Evans Early American Imprint Collection.

Early Modern English Drama (EMED) features the plays by playwrights other than Shakespeare that werewritten and performed during London’s first period of commercial theater, from 1576 to 1642.

Shakespeare's complete works in authoritative, high-quality PDF texts.

The complete annotated, old-spelling poetry and selected prose of John Milton.

English literary texts in .html format, covering the years 1350-1785.

This online collection of medieval texts is made available by the Robbins Library of the University of Rochester.

This anthology of is browsable by date, author, and title.

A critical digital archive of early twentieth-century publishers, beginning with Leonard and Virginia Woolf's Hogarth Press (est. 1917).

Culturally significant magazines from around the early 20th century.

Digitized full-text dime novels from the Albert Johannsen and Edward T. LeBlanc Collections. Dime novels were a form of cheaply printed popular literature produced between 1860 and 1930.

A listing of over 35,000 free books on the web, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries. Also includes listings of online serials (magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc.)

Public-domain editions of classic English and Continental writers.

Recordings of poets from around the English-speaking world with excerpts from them freely available online.

Free access to every issue, from 1912-present.

The Academy of American Poets website, with poems and brief author biographies.

A web anthology of 4,800 poems in English and French by over 700 poets spanning 1400 years.

A searchable, peer-reviewed archive of texts of the Romantic era, including novels, poetry, and correspondence.

Avante-garde poetry and prose.

Digitized 17th century English broadside ballads with transcriptions and metadata.

This Stanford University website allows readers to encounter novels by Charles Dickens and Arthur Conan Doyle as they originally appeared -- published in serial form in popular magazines of the day..

Explores the philosophy and writers who influenced Melville.

A large collection of digitized broadside ballads from the Scottish National Library.