Wentworth
Institute of Technology
617-989-4040
The job search process takes patience and perseverance. There are many different aspects of a job search and it’s not a linear process. You’ll want to begin by thinking about what types of positions and companies you are interested in, however, you may revisit and reevaluate this part of the process later on. Similarly, you’ll need to create and revise application materials, utilize networking strategies, and prep for and follow-up with interviews throughout the process. Most importantly, throughout the entire process, stay confident and professional by being prepared. The CO-OPS + CAREERS Office is available to you for the rest of your career, including access to WITWorks.
Every workplace is different and to thrive at a new company it is important you take the time to understand the culture around you. During your first week, take notice of the norms and routines within the office, and befriend a company veteran who can help you navigate politics and find office supplies. Being professional is not one thing but three: it is what you say, what you do, and how you present yourself.
Find lists of top companies in your field -- and detailed background information for your interview - using resources from the Library!
The Boston Business Journal (BBJ) is a well-regarded source of business news, data, and networking information for the greater Boston area. Topics include real estate, technology, transportation, company and workplace information, and more. Subscription includes full-text access to the Boston publication only (no other American City Business Journals). Note: Schumann Library also maintains a print subscription to BBJ, located by the Research Help Desk on the main floor of the Library.
GlobalData is a business information database covering a unique mix of company, industry, financial, and country data for every major marketplace in the world. Industries covered include Aerospace, Defense & Security, Agribusiness, Apparel, Automotive, Construction, Consumer, Healthcare, Medical Devices, Power, Technology, and more.
GlobalData has created a "how-to" tutorial to help users get to know the resource. Check it out to assist you.
*This is an upgraded product, replacing MarketLine. If you have any questions or would like a demo of this product, please contact the Library.*
Cracking the Coding Interview
by
I am not a recruiter. I am a software engineer. And as such, I know what it's like to be asked to whip up brilliant algorithms on the spot and then write flawless code on a whiteboard. I've been through this as a candidate and as an interviewer. Cracking the Coding Interview, 6th Edition is here to help you through this process, teaching you what you need to know and enabling you to perform at your very best. I've coached and interviewed hundreds of software engineers. The result is this book. Learn how to uncover the hints and hidden details in a question, discover how to break down a problem into manageable chunks, develop techniques to unstick yourself when stuck, learn (or re-learn) core computer science concepts, and practice on 189 interview questions and solutions. These interview questions are real; they are not pulled out of computer science textbooks. They reflect what's truly being asked at the top companies, so that you can be as prepared as possible. WHAT'S INSIDE? - 189 programming interview questions, ranging from the basics to the trickiest algorithm problems. - A walk-through of how to derive each solution, so that you can learn how to get there yourself. - Hints on how to solve each of the 189 questions, just like what you would get in a real interview. - Five proven strategies to tackle algorithm questions, so that you can solve questions you haven't seen. - Extensive coverage of essential topics, such as big O time, data structures, and core algorithms. - A behind the scenes look at how top companies like Google and Facebook hire developers. - Techniques to prepare for and ace the soft side of the interview: behavioral questions. - For interviewers and companies: details on what makes a good interview question and hiring process.
Gallery of Best Cover Letters
by
Gallery of Best Cover Letters is packed with expert tips for writing and designing cover letters, plus a diverse collection of more than 300 sample cover letters written by professional resume writers. It also includes more than 20 corresponding resumes. These examples span numerous fields, from healthcare and education to law enforcement and sales. A helpful index of sample letters and resumes sorted by occupation will help readers quickly find examples that speak directly to their career aspirations. In addition to these samples, the book provides expert advice for writing strategies tailored to readers' specific career interests. It also debunks common cover letter myths that may have been keeping readers from achieving success in the past. The book includes instructive comments for each cover letter that pinpoint the elements that make it striking and unique. Additional examples showcase electronic cover letters, letters to recruiters, thank-you notes, and letters that address relocation issues.
Knock 'em Dead Resumes
by
Expert advice on building a resume to get the job you want! Your resume is the most important financial document you'll ever create. When it works, so do you. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience, bestselling author Martin Yate shows you how to write a dynamic, effective resume that: Stands out in a resume database Builds a strong personal brand employers will want on their team Passes recruiters' six-second scan test Speaks to exactly what employers are looking for The new edition of this classic guide includes dozens of sample resumes as well as cutting-edge advice on resume-writing tactics. With Knock 'em Dead Resumes, 12th Edition, you'll grab employers' attention--and score the job you want.