ENGL 2200 (Prof. Coughlin)

Encyclopedic coverage in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities

An authoritative source for general information on virtually any topic.

The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer−reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

Unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of the English language

Offers scholarly journal articles in science and technology, the arts, medicine, education and more. Includes peer−reviewed and full-text sources, as well as 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

Find high resolution art images from libraries, museums, and private collections

Provides in−depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines comprising area studies, arts, business and economics, history. humanities, law, medicine, science and mathematics, and social sciences.

Find literary criticism, summaries of literary works, and biographies of authors

Use Social Explorer to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

A statistical data and research platform that consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Provides coverage of four centuries of women’s history through images, primary documents, supplementary materials, and teaching tools. Also provides access to the online version of Notable American Women and the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.