Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: ENGL 2200 (Prof. Coughlin): Newspapers

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

New York Times.com

Wentworth has electronic access to nytimes.com for all faculty, students, and staff. You'll have to sign up for an account using your WIT credentials:

New York Times Digital Pass Sign-Up
Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all WIT faculty, staff, and students. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.

Boston Globe Historical Newspaper

Boston Globe (1872 - 1989) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1989 with an additional year of content added annually.

For coverage from 1997 - the present see ProQuest US Newsstream

Boston Globe (1997 - present)

Use this link to search the Boston Globe 1997 - present. You can set up search alerts too!

Boston Globe (1997 - present)

The Boston Herald (via Boston Public Library)

Historical Newspaper Collections at the BPL
Access to full-page, digitized American and British newspapers from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
Boston Public Library eCard
BPL eCards are virtual library cards that allow users immediate entry to all of Boston Public Library's remotely-accessible electronic resources, including magazine databases, downloadable audio, video, eBooks, and music.

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.

Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream

Find articles from regional and international newspapers
Includes full-text of The Boston Globe (1980 - present)

A general search will search all newspapers in the database.

If there is one newspaper you want to view, choose "Publications" from the top drop down menu and type the title of the newspaper. Then the search will default to that title only. You can also limit your search to major U.S. dailies.

Newspapers from the Boston Public Library

Step 1:
Obtain a BPL eCard (Boston Public Library electronic card: https://www.bpl.org/ecard/

Step 2:
Once you have the BPL eCard, head directly to the BPL Electronic Newspaper Collection to begin searching. There, you can access the New York Times full database (images and graphs) and many other local and international newspapers. For example, the Boston Herald last three months are available via PressReader.: https://www.bpl.org/resources-types/newspapers/

Historical Newspaper Databases at the BPL

Historical Newspaper Collections at the BPL
Access to full-page, digitized American and British newspapers from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.