Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: Architecture: Materials

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

email: library@wit.edu

Books on Architectural Materials

Material Design: Informing Architecture by Materiality by Thomas Schröpfer (editor)
Call Number: 720.28 .S37 2011
ISBN: 9783034600354
Publication Date: 2010
Material Design: Informing Architecture by Materiality opens the way to an innovative use of materials in the design professions. Taking material qualities and properties such as texture, elasticity, transparency and fluidity as a point of departure, the concept described and employed here transcends the conventional definitions of building materials.
Materials in Progress: Innovations for Designers and Architects by Sascha Peters; Diana Drewes
Call Number: 721.044 .P48pro 2019
ISBN: 9783035613704
Publication Date: 2019
In a compact format, Materials in Progress: Innovations for Designers and Architects offers a well-grounded overview of the latest material innovations, including edible packaging, liquid light and intelligent natural materials. At the same time, the societal dimension of such developments is taken into consideration.
The Material Imagination: Reveries on Architecture and Matter by Matthew Mindrup
ISBN: 9781472424587
Publication Date: 2015
As an alternative to a formal approach in architectural design, The Material Imagination: Reveries on Architecture and Matter challenges readers to rethink the materials in architecture through an examination of historical precedent, architectural practice, literary sources, philosophical analyses and everyday experience.
Sustainable Materials, Processes and Production by Rob Thompson (Photographer); Martin Thompson; Rob Thompson
Call Number: REF 620.11 .T46 2013
ISBN: 9780500290712
Publication Date: 2013
Sustainable Materials, Processes and Production is an essential reference for understanding the environmental impact of materials, manufacturing processes, and product life cycles, and is also a guide on how to select and use them in an intelligent way. It includes in-depth analysis of fifteen materials, fourteen processes, and six production life cycles, supplemented by specially commissioned photographs and diagrams.

Library Online Resources for Materials

Material Order This link opens in a new window
A collaborative, open access materials database, Material Order compiles basic information on materials from collections at Harvard University, Rhode Island School of Design, Columbia University, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of Michigan in one place.
Materiom This link opens in a new window
Materiom is a materials database that focuses specifically on sustainable materials created with natural ingredients. This resource includes recipes to manufacture the materials listed, as well as a user directory to connect with other designers interested in sustainable materials.
Users must create a free account to access the (free) content of this resource.
Knovel Answers for Science and Engineering This link opens in a new window
Allows material properties searching and simultaneous comparison across hundreds of materials. Also provides access to interactive graphs, property table data, and engineering equations.

Other Online Resources for Materials

Archello
Archello is a directory for architects to advertise recent projects, and for manufacturers to advertise new materials available for purchase.
MatWeb - Material Property Data
Material properties data sheets for polymers, metals, metal alloys, fibers, semiconductors, and other engineering materials
Sweets Directory
Sweets provides building product information, with links to CAD details, BIM objects, specifications, catalogs, project galleries as well as information on green products.
Transmaterial
Transmaterial is a blog maintained by architect and former Fulbright scholar Blaine Brownell. The blog contains brief summaries of recent innovations in materials, with links to manufacturers.