Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: Architecture: Images & Plans

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

email: library@wit.edu

Library Books for Images & Plans

Print books are going to provide fabulous high resolution graphics:

Search the library catalog for project name with quotation marks (Example: "Exeter Library")

Limit results to books by choosing Source Type "Books" on the left. If you do not see "books" choose "show more."

Search the library catalog for architect or designer (Example: Louis Kahn)

Limit result to books by choosing Source Type "Books" on the left. If you do not see "books" choose "show more." Once you have the call number, go to the stacks and check the table of contents or index for your project name.

Search the library catalog for building type (Example: Library Architecture)

Limit result to books by choosing Source Type "Books" on the left. If you do not see "books" choose "show more."

Advanced Search

Library Databases & Journals for Images & Plans

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Find high resolution art images from libraries, museums, and private collections
As of August 1, 2024, Artstor content is now hosted on JSTOR. Users can download and save images. To save images, users can create a free account. To download images, no account is needed.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
.
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Avery Index for Architectural Periodicals lists most, if not all, architecture publications. It contains many items that are not held in Schumann Library’s collection, either digitally or physically. To request an article: submit an InterLibrary Loan request and we will request a copy on your behalf:
- InterLibrary Loan Request Form
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
.
Provides access to full text articles on fine, decorative, and commercial art and design well as 14,000 indexed art dissertations and 229,000 indexed art reproductions.

El Croquis Digital Library
El Croquis is one of the most prestigious architectural magazines in the world. The leading international architects choose it as their showcase.

The Library also subscribes to physical issues of El Croquis, which can be found in the Periodical Stacks.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
.
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines comprising area studies, arts, business and economics, history. humanities, law, medicine, science and mathematics, and social sciences.
As of August 1, 2024, Artstor's collections are now part of JSTOR. Users can access and download high resolution art images from libraries, museums, and private collections.
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
**Some functions of DETAIL Inspiration are currently not operating. If you run into an error or need assistance accessing PDFs or searching please email library@wit.edu.***
Offering over 4,000 project documentations from more than 30 years of DETAIL magazine, DETAIL Inspiration is the largest research and inspiration platform for sophisticated designs and building solutions.

Web Resources for Image & Plans

ArchDaily
News, photos, and drawings about projects, products, events, interviews and competitions.
Archello
Archello is a directory for architects to advertise recent projects, and for manufacturers to advertise new materials available for purchase.
ArchInform
International database of architecture of the 20th century.
Architizer
Platform for architects and designers worldwide to share and evaluate building projects, including high-quality images and plans.
Archnet
MIT-based community for architects, planners, urban designers, with a focus on Muslim cultures.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is the research arm of Google. Try Google Scholar vs. Google to identify scholarly articles and discover relevant journals for your topic.
Hathi Trust
Full text pre-1923 books, journal articles, government publications, and other sources.
Tectónica
Tectónica is a Spanish magazine focused on the technical process of architectural design and construction. Articles are published in Spanish and include maps, drawings, and diagrams. A free account provides access to 3D models and downloadable PDFs of articles.
HABS/HAER
Architectural, engineering, and landscape documentation 40,000 historic structures and sites, from American Indians to today.

Maps

Atlascope - Levanthal Map and Education Center
Dozens of Bromley and Sanborn insurance atlases for the Boston area Unfortunately, they have not loaded any after about 1930 because of copyright restrictions.
LOC: Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Downloadable, full-color property maps of cities and towns across the United States. Pre-1924 coverage only.
Sanborn Maps - Abbreviations
Sanborn Maps - Keys and Colors
Knowledge of the keys and colors is essential to proper interpretation of the information found in fire insurance maps.