Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: CIVE 3800-01: Engineering Boston: Find Newspapers

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

Boston Globe (1872 - 1989) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1989 with an additional year of content added annually.

For coverage from 1997 - the present see ProQuest US Newsstream
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Access national and international news, opinion pieces, reports, reviews, and more with access to the New York Times online. Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all WIT faculty, staff, and students. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.
- New users: create a NYT account with your WIT email address.
- Existing users: sign-in with your credentials or renew your access (faculty/staff will need to renew every four years).
- Off-campus users: sign-up or sign-in using existing credentials.

Residents of Massachusetts may gain access by using a Boston Public Library e-card. Apply for an e-card, or renew one, here.

The Annotated Newspapers of Harbottle Dorr, Jr.
This collection is comprised of 805 newspaper issues primarily published between 1765 and 1776 in Boston and surrounding towns.
Google Newspaper Archive
An extensive collection of digitized newspapers from the United States and Canada.
Historical U.S. Newspapers Online
An exhaustive state-by-state listing of historical American newspapers that are available on the Web. Compiled by Carol Singer of Bowling Green State University, Ohio.
The Liberator Files
Scanned images of pages from the Boston abolitionist newspaper The Liberator (1831-1865).
New York State Historic Newspapers
Searchable historic newspapers from the 18th-20th centuries in digitized form.