Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: RAMP 2024: Finding Sources

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

Off Campus Access

Off-Campus Access to Library Resources
Most library resources are available off-campus. Use your Wentworth login and password for full access.
Schumann Short Off Campus Access

Library Catalog

Start with the Library Catalog to find resources related to your topic.

*Off-Campus Access: Some Library resources may require you to enter your WIT credentials for off-campus access. For more information regarding off-campus access to e-resources, please ask a librarian.

Advanced Search

Start Here

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
.
Encyclopedic coverage in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities
Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source for general information on virtually any topic.

Research Databases

These article databases are great places to start your research. The coverage is broad so they includes topics from all areas.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
.
Offers scholarly journal articles in science and technology, the arts, medicine, education and more. Content covers nearly all academic disciplines. Includes peer−reviewed and full-text sources, as well as 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
*This is an upgraded product, replacing Academic Search Complete. If you have any questions or would like a demo of this product, please contact the Library.*
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
.
Find journal articles and citations covering all academic subjects
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes full-text of The Boston Globe (1980 - present).
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Roper iPoll is an informative and interactive opinion data research platform. Download full datasets on U.S. topics including elections, economic issues, education, the environment, health, human rights, wealth and poverty, work and labor, and much more. Roper iPoll offers nearly a million survey and poll questions, response data, associated reporting, methodology and transparency documentation, full questionnaires, related survey ephemera, and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistical data and research platform that consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

USA.gov: Statistics
Statistics from over 100 Federal agencies.

Newspapers

You can access many newspapers (including the Boston Globe,WSJ, and many others) electronically using Proquest U.S. Newstream or Proquest Central. Stop by the library to read the Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Financial Times, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal in our cafe area.

Nexis Uni provides access to over 5000 national and international news sites.

Schumann Library provides complimentary access to the New York Times, register for an account by visiting AccessNYT.com.

Please contact us at library@wit.edu with any questions.