Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: RAMP 2024: Week 2

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

Finding Sources

Search the Library catalog for e-books, articles, physical books and journals, and more. Library resources have been selected to make your research more efficient and effective. Remember that we are here to help.

Advanced Search

Research Databases

When you need articles, it might be quicker to start with a Schumann Library database specifically for articles.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
.
Offers scholarly journal articles in science and technology, the arts, medicine, education and more. Content covers nearly all academic disciplines. Includes peer−reviewed and full-text sources, as well as 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
*This is an upgraded product, replacing Academic Search Complete. If you have any questions or would like a demo of this product, please contact the Library.*

Google
Google Scholar
Google Scholar offers a quick and convenient way to gain access to full-text scholarly articles, abstracts, and citations. You may enable Google Scholar to search the Schumann Library's collections by linking to its catalog:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
.
A comprehensive full−text database of educational research and information.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
.
Find journal articles and citations covering all academic subjects

Newspapers

You can access many newspapers (including the Boston Globe,WSJ, and many others) electronically using Proquest U.S. Newstream or Proquest Central. Stop by the library to read the Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Financial Times, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal in our cafe area.

Schumann Library provides complimentary access to the New York Times, register for an account by visiting AccessNYT.com.

Boston Business Journal can be read via American Business Journals which includes news from 40+ major cities in the United States.

Nexis Uni provides access to over 5000 national and international news sites.

Please contact us at library@wit.edu with any questions.

"Homework"

Ahead of your session on 7/29:

Each person should find one article on their research topic.
Save your article to RefWorks.
Nominate one article from each group and add its citation (in MLA 9 style) to this Google Doc (linked below) by 9AM on Monday 7/29.

Article Citations Google Doc