Water and Wastewater Management

Describes the automatic control and instrumentation of water distribution, treatment, and storage systems.

Provides a complete manual of practice for water utilities on the selection, installation, operation, and maintenance of customer water meters.

This comprehensive operations manual for water service explains the use of concrete pressure pipe.

Complete information for designing, installing, and maintaining steel pipe and fittings for potable water transmission and distribution.

Describes the causes and prevention of backflow and cross-connections in potable water systems.

Provides drawings and approved procedures for fire hydrant design, installation, and operation and maintenance practices.

Contains information needed to estimate customer demand and maximum expected flow that can be used to size new service lines and met

Provides the user with both general and technical information to aid in design, procurement, installation, and maintenance of PVC pipe and fittings.

Discusses the planning, design, construction, operation, regulatory framework, and management of community dual water distribution systems, which consist of separate systems for distributing potable water and non-potable water principally drawn from reclaimed wastewater.

A technical reference guide in designing, installing, operating, and maintaining reservoirs using flexible-membrane materials for linings and floating covers.

Explains the causes and prevention of external pipe corrosion.

Provides guidance on selecting the best water-main rehabilitation techniques for your water distribution system.

Provides information on designing water distribution systems to meet fire protection and suppression requirements.

Describes how to build accurate water distribution system models, and use models to manage assets and solve hydraulic and water quality problems.

Provides information about the most common large flowmeters used in water treatment and in custody-transfer applications.

Shows how to determine the cost of uncaptured revenue from non-revenue water (NRW) lost to leakage, meter error, or water theft. Intended to be used with AWWA's Free Water Audit Software.

Covers the specification, design, installation, and maintenance of ductile-iron pipe and fittings for potable water systems.

Selection, design, construction, and maintenance of steel tanks for potable water storage.

Covers valve selection and installation as well as the importance of location, condition, and frequency of operation.

Offers guidance on the selection, installation, and maintenance of fiberglass pipe in potable water systems.

Presents a recommended method for calculating operating torque, head loss, and cavitation for quarter-turn valves typically used in water works service.

Provides essential information for selecting, sizing, locating, and installing air valves in water, wastewater and reclaimed water pipeline systems.

Provides both technical and general information to aid in the design, specification, procurement, installation, and understanding of high-density polyethylene (HDPE) pipe and fittings.

Provides an explanation of the factors that influence corrosion, assesses corrosion-related impacts, and discusses the development of a strategy to implement and maintain effective corrosion control in the water distribution system.

Presents information on the design and installation of hydraulic and pneumatic power actuators.

Useful for operators, technicians, and engineers to gain a basic understanding of the use and application of manual and automated knife gate valves.

Presents the history and general application of elastomers in waterworks pipes, valves, and fittings. It provides guidance on generally available elastomers and products and their application.

Covers the benefits of condition assessment, how to plan for and build a condition assessment program, methods of condition assessment, strategies for economical assessments, and how information gathered during condition assessment can be best used by utilities in managing their systems.