Water and Wastewater Management

Essential information for decision makers planning fluoridation installations, engineers designing them, and water utility personnel operating them.

Describes nonpathogenic organisms in source water, the various problems they can cause in water treatment, and treatment strategies.

Provides 30 common lab tests for process control in drinking water production. Each test includes purpose of test, equipment list, reagents, simplified methods and procedures, and warnings and cautions.

Provides information on chlorination and chloramination practices for the disinfection of drinking water. It does not cover the use of chlorine as an oxidant or as a disinfectant for pipeline and appurtenances.

This manual is intended to serve as a technical reference guide for designing, installing, operating, and maintaining geomembrane liners and floating covers for potable water storage reservoirs.

Provides general guidelines for the use of precoat filtration, commonly called diatomaceous earth (DE or diatomite) filtration, in potable water treatment.

All the information needed to design and operate jar tests, online monitoring and control, flocculation, clarification, filtration, and pilot tests.

Principles, equipment, system design, and operation of electrodialysis and electrodialysis reversal for water treatment.

Guidance on the selection, installation, operation, and maintenance of reverse osmosis and nanofiltration systems in water treatment.

Provides information about waterborne viral, bacterial, and parasitic pathogens. It describes each type of pathogen, how it enters the water supply, its diseases, and its treatment.

Contains information on low pressure membranes in their widely diverse applications, operations and system designs.

Offers current and practical approaches to nitrification prevention and response to a nitrification episode in chloraminated drinking water distribution systems.

Manual of practice for the identification, control, and treatment algae in water sources and algae-caused problems in drinking water.

Provides technical and planning guidance for drinking water utilities that currently operate, are developing, or are considering desalination facilities.

Provides a basic understanding of how to design and install both low- and high-strength OSG systems, how they work, and how they compare with other popular forms of chlorine currently on the market.

Offers practical guidance and best management practices for maintaining and improving distribution system water quality.

Presents the key issues and challenges of developing inland desalination facilities, including concentrate management and disposal methods.