Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: Business Management: International Business

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

email: library@wit.edu

Library Catalog

Advanced Search

Newspaper Resources

Major Newspapers
Access even more newspapers via Wentworth, such as the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, etc. You can also search several newspapers at once via ProQuest US Newsstream or Nexus Uni.

Information by Country

The World Factbook | CIA
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map."
U.S. Department of State | Briefings - Foreign Press Centers
Every year, the Foreign Press Centers host dozens of experts from the private, public, and academic sector for on-the-record briefings on a variety of relevant topics. Read transcripts, watch videos and see photos from past briefings at the Foreign Press Centers.

International Business Websites

B-READY by the World Bank Group
B-READY improves upon and replaces Doing Business. Updates on the development of the new B-READY project will be published on this website as they become available.
CSIS | Center for Strategic & International Studies
The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan, nonprofit policy research organization dedicated to providing strategic insights and policy solutions to help decision makers chart a course toward a better world.
globalEDGE Insights
Visit globalEDGE Insights by Country to learn more about the history, government, economy, and culture of almost every country in the world. Each country's page also provides external resources, trade statistics, rankings of corporations with headquarters in that country, and indices for a range of factors such as Ease of Doing Business and Global Competitiveness.
IMF - International Monetary Fund
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
ITA - International Trade Administration
The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.
Transparency International
Transparency International gives voice to the victims and witnesses of corruption. Through chapters in more than 100 countries and an international secretariat in Berlin, Transparency International is leading the fight against corruption to turn this vision into reality.
U.S. Department of State - Business
International Markets, as well as doing business with State.
World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the global rules of trade between nations. Its main function is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.
XE.com | Currency Calculator and Information
We give you the power of our most up to date, reputable currency information and offer you secure, reliable, easy to use products and services dedicated to making your life easier.

International Business Databases

EMIS Intelligence (via Boston Public Library)
Delivers current news, company and industry information, and market and economic analyses for emerging markets in Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, and Asia.
*Users will need to create a free EMIS user account and have a Boston Public Library (BPL) e-Card to login. If you need assistance in accessing this resource, sign up for BPL e-card, or contact your WIT librarian.

Gale Business: DemographicsNow (via Boston Public Library) This link opens in a new window
.
Demographic data on more than 24 million U.S. businesses and 206 million consumers. Consumer and market insight, reports, data, and mapping features. Access is granted to individuals with a BPL e-Card who reside, work, or attend school in Massachusetts. Check your eligibility and register for a BPL e-Card on the BPL Website.
GlobalData This link opens in a new window
GlobalData is a business information database covering a unique mix of company, industry, financial, and country data for every major marketplace in the world. Industries covered include Aerospace, Defense & Security, Agribusiness, Apparel, Automotive, Construction, Consumer, Healthcare, Medical Devices, Power, Technology, and more.
*This is an upgraded product, replacing MarketLine. If you have any questions or would like a demo of this product, please contact the Library.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Allows access to hard-to-find business information and financial data on privately-owned companies.

Users must create a free account (with their WIT credentials) to access the full content of this resource.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistical data and research platform that consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.