Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: HIST 4300: American Urban History: Newspapers

Newspapers via Schumann Library

Boston Globe Historical Newspaper (1872 - 2007)

Historical coverage of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1989 with an additional year of content added annually.

For coverage from 1997 - the present see ProQuest US Newsstream
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
NYTimes.com
Access national and international news, opinion pieces, reports, reviews, and more with access to the New York Times online. Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all WIT faculty, staff, and students. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.
- New users: create a NYT account with your WIT email address.
- Existing users: sign-in with your credentials or renew your access (faculty/staff will need to renew every four years).
- Off-campus users: sign-up or sign-in using existing credentials.
ProQuest US Newsstream
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes full-text of The Boston Globe (1980 - present).

WBUR
The website for Boston's National Public Radio affiliate contains articles, podcasts, interviews, and more about the Boston area.

Newspapers via the Boston Public Library

Step 1:
Obtain a BPL eCard (Boston Public Library electronic card). Then you can access several historical newspaper databases from anywhere with an internet connection.

America's Historical Newspapers
Boston Herald (2004-2011)
New York Times (1851-2007)
New York Times (1985-present)

Step 2:
Once you have the BPL eCard, head directly to the BPL Electronic Newspaper Collectons to begin searching.