Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: HIST 4300: American Urban History: Secondary Sources &amp; Scholarly Articles

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

What are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources are works that analyze, assess or interpret a topic or event, typically using primary sources to do so. Secondary sources can include books, journal articles, speeches, reviews, research reports, and more. Generally speaking, secondary sources are written well after the events that are being researched.

Library Catalog

Advanced Search

Additional Library Resources/Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly journal articles in science and technology, the arts, medicine, education and more. Content covers nearly all academic disciplines. Includes peer−reviewed and full-text sources, as well as 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
*This is an upgraded product, replacing Academic Search Complete. If you have any questions or would like a demo of this product, please contact the Library.*
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines comprising area studies, arts, business and economics, history. humanities, law, medicine, science and mathematics, and social sciences.