Geotechnical Engineering

A well-illustrated scholarly article by a number of geologists from local universities.

Contains a collection of historical maps and papers on Boston's precarious groundwater situation and the decay of the Back Bay's wooden pilings.

A 2002 article from Geotimes that discusses the differing soil conditions found in Boston, and how geotechnical advances have kept pace with ever more complex construction projects.

Provides a geological history of the region from the Pre-Cambrian to the Quaternary (Ice Age).

A USGS publication that shows how the geology of Boston influenced its colonial history.

This 1989 article by Edward G. Johnson provides an overview of Boston area soils, groundwater levels, and testing practices.

A geological report with color plates showing the bedrock geology of the area around Fresh Pond.

A Master's degree thesis (MIT, 2006) by Tamar Shoham on problems posed by the decay of wooden pilings in Back Bay Boston. The thesis is available in a non-print, read-only format.

Allows users to make detailed geological and soils maps by adding layers to the mapping tool.

This UMass Amherst website offers data, publications, maps, and links.

Various geological field trip guidebooks produced by the New England Intercollegiate Geological Conferences between 1952 and 1989.

A brief description of the Great Meteor, or New England, Hotspot: a volcanic upwelling of magma that formed the White Mountains in New Hampshire and the New England Seamount chain.

This National Park Service webpage provides a brief overview of the geology of the Harbor Islands.

An online library of Mass. soil surveys, arranged by county.

Geological maps and data on natural hazards, water resources, and geothermal energy in Massachusetts.

Peter S. Rosen is the Dept. Chair and Associate Professor of Geology at Northeastern University. Many of his papers on the geology of Boston may be found online here.

Links to all of the available soil surveys for Massachusetts counties.

The premier source for information on earth sciences, surveying, and geological hazards.

Topographical and stratigraphical maps from the U.S. Geological Survey.

This article on the varied geological conditions found in the filled land of the Back Bay was written by Prof. James Lambrechts of WIT.

Links to state geological surveys across the United States.

The system used by the American Association of State Highway and Traffic Officials. See also the link to soil surveys by state.

The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.

Large online database of full-text reports and conference papers on European soil research.

Reconnaissance reports on the performance of geotechnical structures following natural disasters.

This online version, posted by the Mineralogical Society of America, provides properties data on nearly 3800 different minerals.

Open access to the society's article database, International Journal of Geoengineering Case Histories, and ISSMGE BUlletin.

A large online library of soil science publications, including links to Soil Surveys by State.

The premier source for information on earth sciences, surveying, and geological hazards.

Free online tools for creating soil maps for locations across the United States.

Publications from the US Geological Survey.

The international standard for soil classification systems endorsed by the International Union of Soil Sciences.