Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: SCIN 5000: Senior Capstone: Find Books &amp; Articles

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

SCIN 5000

Find Books, Articles, and Videos (Simultaneous searching of our catalog and databases)

How to Find Information on a Subject that Is New to You

The best way to begin research is to consult reference works, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. Take note of keywords and subject headings that identify or help to describe your subject. These keywords will form the basis of your searches.When using keywords in a catalog or database search box, remember these basic tips:

Using Boolean operators such as AND, OR, and NOT can help you to refine your searches (windows NOT computer)
Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase ("free speech")

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
McGraw Hill engineering handbooks and textbooks integrated with teaching and learning tools such as DataVis data visualization, problem−solving with Excel spreadsheets, downloadable tables and graphs, and hundreds of faculty−created videos.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
.
Provides in−depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Knovel Answers for Science and Engineering This link opens in a new window
Allows material properties searching and simultaneous comparison across hundreds of materials. Also provides access to interactive graphs, property table data, and engineering equations.
ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering.
When clicking into the resource, scroll down to where it says “search results” to ensure you are viewing our full, paid collection. From here, you can filter your results as needed. A green check mark on the right side of the resource will denote the resources you have full-text access to. Please ignore the “request trial” button at the top of the page.