Physics

The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas is a quick-reference aid for students and professionals in the physical sciences and engineering. It contains more than 2000 of the most useful formulas and equations found in undergraduate physics courses, covering mathematics, dynamics and mechanics, quantum physics, thermodynamics, solid state physics, electromagnetism, optics and astrophysics. An exhaustive index allows the required formulas to be located swiftly and simply, and the unique tabular format crisply identifies all the variables involved. The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas comprehensively covers the major topics explored in undergraduate physics courses. It is designed to be a compact, portable, reference book suitable for everyday work, problem solving or exam revision. All students and professionals in physics, applied mathematics, engineering and other physical sciences will want to have this essential reference book within easy reach.

Edited by internationally recognized authorities in the field, this expanded and updated new edition of the bestselling Handbook, containing more than 100 new articles, is aimed at the design and operation of modern particle accelerators. It is intended as a vade mecum for professional engineers and physicists engaged in these subjects.

The latest edition of the world's most popular scientific reference features new tables and reference sections on everything from aqueous solubility of organic compounds to flash point data of common substances. Along with the very latest facts and figures, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics also contains all of the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, and geophysical data.

The most comprehensive and up-to-date optics resource available Prepared under the auspices of the Optical Society of America, the five carefully architected and cross-referenced volumes of the Handbook of Optics, Third Edition, contain everything a student, scientist, or engineer requires to actively work in the field. From the design of complex optical systems to world-class research and development methods, this definitive publication provides unparalleled access to the fundamentals of the discipline and its greatest minds. Individual chapters are written by the world's most renowned experts who explain, illustrate, and solve the entire field of optics. Each volume contains a complete chapter listing for the entire Handbook, extensive chapter glossaries, and a wealth of references. This pioneering work offers unprecedented coverage of optics data, techniques, and applications. Volume I covers geometrical and physical optics, polarized light, components, and instruments. THIS LINKS TO VOLUME 1 ONLY-please see Library Catalog for all volumes

This handbook covers the fundamental principles of interactions of particles with matter and of most types of detectors used in many fields of physics, starting from particle physics, nuclear physics up to recent experiments for solid state physics.

This handbook comprises a comprehensive reference source that unifies the entire fields of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, assembling the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field from atomic spectroscopy to applications to comets and global changein comets.

Chris Kitchin has written an easy-to-read book explaining how to use a small telescope and find your way around the sky. Covering all the basic topics - telescopes, optics, positions and motion, observing, and instruments - Telescopes and Techniques has been designed as an introduction for anyone wanting a firm grounding in the essentials of astronomy. Whether you are an amateur astronomer, an undergraduate student, or just someone who wants to learn more about this fascinating subject, Telescopes and Techniques is an ideal place to start.