Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: Industrial Design: Design History

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

Introduction to Modern Design: Its History from the Eighteenth Century to the Present by George H. Marcus
Call Number: 745.409 .M27 2020
ISBN: 9781474276658
Publication Date: 2019
The focus of Introduction to Modern Design is on the objects themselves-from industrial design, furniture, ceramics, textiles, graphics, electronics, to automobiles-and explores the development of these designs in relation to industrialization, technology, environmental responsibility, consumerism, individual needs, and the expression of the social values of their day.
100 Ideas That Changed Design by Peter Fiell; Charlotte Fiell
Call Number: 745.4 .F54 2019
ISBN: 9781786273437
Publication Date: 2019
100 Ideas That Changed Design chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped industrial and product design. From the origins of modern design in the craft movements of the 19th and early 20th century, and the changes brought about by mass production, the book traces the most important ideas in design through the modern movement and post-war consumer society to more recent ideas such as Open-Source Design and Biomimicry.

All Disciplines

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles about most academic subject areas including science and technology, the arts, medicine, education and more.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Offers a vast collection of streaming videos covering the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and current events.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journal articles about architecture, humanities, and social science topics.

Art & Design

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
.
Provides access to full text articles on fine, decorative, and commercial art and design well as 14,000 indexed art dissertations and 229,000 indexed art reproductions.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
.
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Avery Index for Architectural Periodicals lists most, if not all, architecture publications. It contains many items that are not held in Schumann Library’s collection, either digitally or physically. To request an article: submit an InterLibrary Loan request and we will request a copy on your behalf:
- InterLibrary Loan Request Form

Digital Commons Openverse
More than 600 million digital images that are free to use and duplicate.

Background & History

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes hundreds of full-text journals and books,

Business & Marketing

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth industry reports, including statistics, SWOT analyses, relevant companies, and trend forecasts. Reports range from state-level to global-level, providing unique insight into industries.

Technology, Science, & Engineering

Knovel Answers for Science and Engineering This link opens in a new window
Allows material properties searching and simultaneous comparison across hundreds of materials. Also provides access to interactive graphs, property table data, and engineering equations.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Millions of digital primary source items from U.S. libraries, museums, and archives.
Europeana
Cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Internet Archive
Archives of Boston Public Library's collection of historical Boston planning documents.
Library of Congress
Largest library in the world, with books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its digital collections. Good site for political cartoons.
Library of Congress -Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
Smithsonian Institution
Smithsonian collections from museums, archives, libraries, and research units relating to areas for Art & Design, History & Culture, and Science & Technology. Includes images, videos, audio files, podcasts, blog posts and electronic journals.
World Digital Library
This Library of Congress project provides access to cultural treasures and significant historical documents from 193 countries on one site, along with timelines and interactive maps.

Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Full−text books, journals, and government publications in the public domain. Pages may be saved or printed individually.