Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: HIST 3800: American Urban History: Primary Sources

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

What Are Primary Sources?

Primary sources are contemporaneous materials that are closely related to the subject that is under study. Such materials may include books, maps, diaries, manuscripts, letters, artwork, contemporary newspaper articles, advertising, photographs, films, recordings, and social media.

Guidance on the Use of Primary Sources

Citing Primary Sources
Citation guidance in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.
Copyright and Fair Use (Stanford University Libraries)
An extensive collection of copyright resources, tools, commentary and primary materials.
Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using
A guide from the American Library Association.

Boston Primary Source Collections

Boston Landmarks Commission
The BLC publishes research reports on buildings of historical importance within the city's ten architectural historic districts. Scroll down on this page for information on the districts.
Digital Commonwealth - Massachusetts Collections Online
Photos and other materials digitized by MA libraries, museums, archives & historical societies.
Brighton Allston Historical Society
Dorchester Historical Society
Historic Boston
Historic New England
Dedicated to the preservation of historic buildings, objects, and manuscripts throughout the region.
Jamaica Plain Historical Society
Massachusetts Historical Society Online Collections
NPS: Maritime History of Massachusetts
Courtesy of the U.S. National Park Service.
Roxbury Crossing Historical Trust
BPL: Norman B. Leventhal Map Center: Boston and New England Maps
Historical maps from the Boston Public Library.

Primary Source Databases

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of primary documents dating from 1796 to the present day.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
.
Essays, articles, reports and other sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. Exploring Race in Society includes articles from academic journals, government agency reports, and primary source documents and speeches.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
.
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines comprising area studies, arts, business and economics, history. humanities, law, medicine, science and mathematics, and social sciences.
As of August 1, 2024, Artstor's collections are now part of JSTOR. Users can access and download high resolution art images from libraries, museums, and private collections.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of four centuries of women’s history through images, primary documents, supplementary materials, and teaching tools. Also provides access to the online version of Notable American Women and the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

For more primary sources on a variety of topics, please see our guide, Find Primary Sources Online!