Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: HIST 4200: Pictures, Media, and US Politics: Newspapers

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

email: library@wit.edu

Current Newspapers from Schumann Library

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Access national and international news, opinion pieces, reports, reviews, and more with access to the New York Times online. Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all WIT faculty, staff, and students. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.
- New users: create a NYT account with your WIT email address.
- Existing users: sign-in with your credentials or renew your access (faculty/staff will need to renew every four years).
- Off-campus users: sign-up or sign-in using existing credentials.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes full-text of The Boston Globe (1980 - present).

Historical Newspapers from Schumann Library

Boston Globe (1872 - 1989) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1989 with an additional year of content added annually.

For coverage from 1997 - the present see ProQuest US Newsstream
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Access national and international news, opinion pieces, reports, reviews, and more with access to the New York Times online. Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all WIT faculty, staff, and students. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.
- New users: create a NYT account with your WIT email address.
- Existing users: sign-in with your credentials or renew your access (faculty/staff will need to renew every four years).
- Off-campus users: sign-up or sign-in using existing credentials.

Historical Newspapers from the Boston Public Library - Non-Library External Sources

With a Boston Public Library (BPL) e-Card, which is free for all MA residents and students, you can access historical newspapers. Once you have registered you can go to the online resources page and start searching the newspapers.

America's Historical Newspapers
Boston Globe (1872-1983)
Boston Globe (1980-)
Boston Herald (2004-2011)
New York Times (1851-2007)
New York Times (1985-present)

Learn how to sign up for a BPL e-Card below.