Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: ENGR 5000: Senior Design: Find Books &amp; Articles

Find Books, Articles, and Videos (Simultaneous searching of our catalog and databases)

How to Find Information on a Subject that Is New to You

The best way to begin research is to consult reference works, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. Take note of keywords and subject headings that identify or help to describe your subject. These keywords will form the basis of your searches.When using keywords in a catalog or database search box, remember these basic tips:

Using Boolean operators such as AND, OR, and NOT can help you to refine your searches (windows NOT computer)
Use quotation marks to indicate a phrase ("free speech")

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Contains engineering reference resources including e-books, instructional videos, Excel spreadsheet calculators, study guides and interactive charts and graphs.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in−depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Knovel Answers for Science and Engineering This link opens in a new window
Find information on materials and material properties. Also provides interactive graphs, property table data, and calculation tool with a collection of hundreds of ready-to-use equations for every disciplnie.
ENGnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Handbooks in telecommunications, materials science, and civil, electrical, and mechanical engineering