Construction Project Management

Information on brownfields and incentive programs for developers.

Development programs, loans, tax incentives, and case histories of successfully redeveloped acreage that had been contaminated by a hazardous substance.

Brownfield sites available for redevelopment in the New England region.

This EPA website contains extensive information on contaminants; technologies; strategies and initiatives (including green remediation); issues; and vendors and developers.

The BRA is responsible for leading Boston's efforts in the areas of planning, economic development, and workforce development. It provides research and analysis to non-profits and to policy makers at all levels of government.

Links to various federal historic financial assistance programs, including community block grants; brownfield development grants; transportation capital funding; and housing capital fund programs.

The Smart Growth Zoning Overlay District Act encourages communities to create dense residential or mixed-use smart growth zoning districts, including a high percentage of affordable housing units, to be located near transit stations, in areas of concentrated development such as existing city and town centers, and in other highly suitable locations.

Economic data contains reports and statistical analysis information that showcases the Massachusetts competitive edge for job growth and housing creation.

The USDA-RD financial programs support such essential public facilities and services as water and sewer systems, housing, health clinics, emergency service facilities and electric and telephone service.

HUD administers programs that provide housing and community development assistance.

America's premier planning association.

Useful reports and fact sheets on the subjects of housing; land use; and planning.

The Boston District Council of the ULI. Offers reports on Boston housing and transportation costs, and how these affect the local economy.

Interactive online tools for urban planners.

This paper by Edward C. Hagerott, Jr., a partner in the Los Angeles office of Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP, discusses air rights and easement agreements commonly used in urban high-rise development.

An overview of the largest real estate development project in the United States.

This paper from George Mason University tells how air rights can be essential to urban development. Contains several references to air rights usage in Boston

Free registration provides access to research reports, white papers, and databases dealing with the use, regulation, and taxation of land.

News, concepts and planning resources for building compact, sustainable communities.

Useful links to recent publications on urban development, housing, transportation, and land use. Also provides free access to Urban Land Magazine.

The Center is designed to serve as a resource for transportation professionals seeking technical assistance, training, information exchange, partnership-building opportunities, and quick and easy access to environmental tools.

Free access to public transportation news, research reports, legislation, and statistics.

Interactive online tools for urban planners.

This website provides free access to technical reports, publications, and highway statistics from state, federal, and local sources.

The FRA is responsible for ensuring the safety and efficiency of the nation's heavy rail system.

Provides a comprehensive view of affordability that includes both the cost of housing and the cost of transportation at the neighborhood level.

This Boston-based organization promotes an urban vision that balances transit, walking, and biking with automobiles.

Links to every transit agency in the Commonwealth.

Safety data, planning advice, and community organizing resources.

The STPP is a nationwide coalition working to ensure safer communities and smarter transportation choices that enhance the economy, improve public health, promote social equity, and protect the environment.

Provides economic and demographic information for every existing and proposed fixed guideway transit station in the U.S. Available with free registration.

An alliance of elected, business and civic leaders from communities across the country who advocate for federal spending on transportation. Contains useful tools and reports.