Skip to Main Content

Jewish American Heritage Month

Welcome Page

What is Jewish American Heritage Month?

Beginning in April 2006, when President George W. Bush first released a proclamation announcing that May would be designated as Jewish American Heritage Month, each president since has proclaimed the commemorative month as an effort to recognize and celebrate Jewish-American life, history, and cultural contribution.

Source: Jewish American Heritage Month

Presidential Proclamation

First Presidential Proclamation for Jewish American Heritage Month

The first presidential proclamation for Jewish American Heritage was given by President George W. Bush in April 2006. Here is some of the text of that proclamation:
"When the first Jewish settlers came to this land, they sought a place of promise where they could practice their faith in freedom and live in liberty. During Jewish American Heritage Month, we celebrate the rich history of the Jewish people in America and honor the great contributions they have made to our country." 
- President George W. Bush

Source2006 Presidential Proclamation

2024 Jewish American Heritage Month Presidential Proclamation

This proclamation was given in April 2024 to officially declare this year's Jewish American Heritage Month. Below is a portion of President Biden's speech:
"Jewish American culture has been inextricably woven into the fabric of our country. Jewish American suffragists, activists, and leaders marched for civil rights, women’s rights, and voting rights. Jewish American scientists, doctors, and engineers have made scientific breakthroughs that define America as a land of possibilities. They have served our Nation in uniform, on the Nation’s highest courts, and at the highest levels of my Administration. As public servants, artists, entertainers, journalists, and poets, they have helped write the story of America, making it — as Emma Lazarus’ poem on the Statue of Liberty states — a home for the “huddled masses yearning to breathe free.”"
President Joseph R. Biden

Source2024 Presidential Proclamation