Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: Interior Design: Materials

Questions?

Contact a Librarian!

call: 617-989-4040

Materials for Interior Environments by Corky Binggeli
ISBN: 9781118419908
Publication Date: 2013
Organized by types of materials and applications, this guide helps designers successfully address material evaluation and selection of interior components.
Interior Design Materials and Specifications by Lisa Godsey
Call Number: 747 .G63 2021
ISBN: 9781501360893
Publication Date: 2021
Written from the viewpoint of the working designer, Interior Design Materials and Specifications, 4th Edition, describes each material's characteristics and teaches students how to evaluate, select, and specify materials, taking into account factors including code compliance, building standards, sustainability guidelines, human needs, and bidding processes.
Materials and Interior Design by Lorraine Farrelly; Rachael Brown
Call Number: 747 .B76 2012
ISBN: 9781856697590
Publication Date: 2012
Materials and Interior Design examines every aspect of the the use of materials in interior design, from initial concept and selection to visual representation and practical application. The book includes useful step-by-step sequences, information on properties and sustainability, and a list of resources, online archives, and sample libraries.

Material Order This link opens in a new window
A collaborative, open access materials database, Material Order compiles basic information on materials from collections at Harvard University, Rhode Island School of Design, Columbia University, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of Michigan in one place.
Materiom This link opens in a new window
Materiom is a materials database that focuses specifically on sustainable materials created with natural ingredients. This resource includes recipes to manufacture the materials listed, as well as a user directory to connect with other designers interested in sustainable materials.
Users must create a free account to access the (free) content of this resource.
Knovel Answers for Science and Engineering This link opens in a new window
Allows material properties searching and simultaneous comparison across hundreds of materials. Also provides access to interactive graphs, property table data, and engineering equations.

Archello
Archello is a directory for architects to advertise recent projects, and for manufacturers to advertise new materials available for purchase.
MatWeb
Data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, superalloys, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials that may be applied to an interior design setting.
Sweets Directory
Sweets provides building product information, with links to CAD details, BIM objects, specifications, catalogs, project galleries as well as information on green products.
Transmaterial
Transmaterial is a blog maintained by architect and former Fulbright scholar Blaine Brownell. The blog contains brief summaries of recent innovations in materials, with links to manufacturers.
Architonic
Architonic connects designers with retailers, products, and brands that can inspire and elevate projects.
SpecSimple
SpecSimple helps architects and designers find the best products for their projects, using their online library and community of vendors.