Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: HIST4223: Boston History: Locating Books &amp; Articles

Search the Library Catalog

Try a general keyword search using in the library catalog to start. Refine your results to academic journals or books using the navigation pane on the left.

Advanced Search

Databases

Another option after searching the library catalog is to look for articles in one of these subject specific databases that may yield more focused results.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly journal articles in science and technology, the arts, medicine, education and more. Includes peer−reviewed and full-text sources, as well as 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back more than 60 years, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines comprising area studies, arts, business and economics, history. humanities, law, medicine, science and mathematics, and social sciences.
Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of four centuries of women’s history through images, primary documents, supplementary materials, and teaching tools. Also provides access to the online version of Notable American Women and the database on Commissions on the Status of Women.

Newspapers from Schumann Library

Boston Globe (1997-present)
Current issues of the Boston Globe (text only). To view photos/images, you can visit Schumann Library and view our print copies of the Globe.

Boston Globe (1872 - 1989) This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the Boston Globe from 1872 to 1989 with an additional year of content added annually.

For coverage from 1997 - the present see ProQuest US Newsstream
NYTimes.com This link opens in a new window
Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all WIT faculty, staff, and students. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.

New users must create a NYT account. Existing accounts must be renewed: Renew NYT Subscription.
Off-campus registration.

More Major Newspapers
Access even more newspapers via Wentworth, such as the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, etc. You can also search several newspapers at once via ProQuest US Newsstream or Nexus Uni.

Newspapers from the Boston Public Library

Step 1:
Obtain a BPL eCard (Boston Public Library electronic card):

BPL eCard Sign Up

Step 2:
Once you have the BPL eCard, head directly to the BPL Electronic Newspaper Collection to begin searching. Here, you can access the New York Times full database (images and graphs) and many other local and international newspapers.

BPL Historical Newspapers
Here you'll find a 19th Century US Newspapers database and access to the Library of Congress 'Chronicling America' project, among other historic and current newspaper collections.