Skip to main content

Citing Sources and Academic Honesty

Applied Mathematics

Image Citation Guidelines:

​See figures 1,2, and 3 on the Academic Honesty Guide for Math by Rachel Maitra and Dwight Horan.

Bibliography or References Format:

It depends on the class and the professor will be clear. It may be only a list of references that are cited and not a general bibliography. If anything is cited then a list would definitely be needed.

Resources:

Architecture

Article Citation Guidelines:

Students are required to cite the original ideas, words, and images of others in all assignments. The original ideas of others, even when paraphrased in the student's own words, drawings, or other forms, must be cited. Unless otherwise directed, students are required to comply with Chicago Manual of Style standards and the College Art Association Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts

Image Citation Guidelines:

All images not produced by the student are required to be cited. In the case of studio work, all diagams, images, drawings, and sketches not produced by the student are required to be labeled with source and credit information.

Bibliography or References Format:

A bibliography is typically expected for all papers. Specific requirements are spelled out in the assignments given out to students.

Resources:

Biological Engineering

Article Citation Guidelines:

Students should always cite, unless given explicit instructions to the contrary.

Image Citation Guidelines:

All images must be captioned and labeled. If the images have not been produced by the student, a citation must be provided using the format indicated by the faculty member.

Bibliography or References Format:

Students should provide a bibliography of all materials that are not their own work or part of the course material provided (e.g. faculty handouts, processes, slideshows, etc.).

Resources:

Biomedical Engineering

Article Citation Guidelines:

The default expectation is to cite any materials and information (other than information derived from lecture/lab notes) that is part of the work of the students for an assignment. The citation format is generally the IEEE or other standard format. If no explicit instruction is given for a specific assignment, the students are expected to follow the general guidelines given at the start of the course.

Image Citation Guidelines:

All diagrams, images, and pictures which are not the direct result of the student's work should be cited appropriately, and the caption of the image should include the proper reference. Generally, the images are cited conforming to IEEE or other standard format.

Bibliography or References Format:

References are required for all types of articles including papers, posters, project reports, presentations, or even homework assignments. Once the assignment is posted on Blackboard, the necessity of having a reference section is noted and included in assignment instructions. In Biomedical Engineering, the expectation is to use References and not Bibliography.

Resources:

Civil Engineering

Article Citation Guidelines:

Guidelines depend on the assignment and the instructions given by the instructor on the syllabus or the assignment. As a rule, images/diagrams/pictures/text excerpts/concepts should be cited if the work is other than they student's own creation. Unless otherwise specified by the instructor, cited work should follow guidelines detailed in Publishing in ASCE Journals, A Guide for Authors.

Image Citation Guidelines:

Guidelines depend on the assignment and the instructions given by the instructor on the syllabus or the assignment. As a rule, images/diagrams/pictures should be cited if the work is other than the student's own creation.

Bibliography or References Format:

See assignment instructions.

Resources:

Computer Science and Networking

Article Citation Guidelines:

All sources of information must be cited in all assignments, papers, and projects. For example, if an online source is used as a code reference then a link to the original code must be provided. Note, however, that copying any code from and online (or other) source and submitting it for a grade as one's own work is not permitted in and Computer Science and Networking course unless given explicit permission from by the instructor. Specific assignments may permit the usage of other code (either online or offline) for use as a library. If this is the case, the source (e.g. repository URL, developer website) must be cited.

Image Citation Guidelines:

All images and diagrams must cite the source of the image or diagram. No particular citation format is required. The link to the original must be provided is the source is online, and a full citation including publication information must be provided is the source is offline.

Bibliography or References Format:

Bibliographies are required for all papers. They are not required in general for presentations and projects. However, all sources must be cited in-line or in foot-note format at a minumum.

Construction Management

Article Citation Guidelines:

Always cite if referencing someone else's work.

Image Citation Guidelines:

Always cite if referencing someone else's work.

Bibliography or References Format:

Expectations will be communicated by each professor.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering

Article Citation Guidelines:

Students should always cite, unless given explicit instructions to the contrary.

Image Citation Guidelines:

All images must be captioned and labeled. If the images have not been produced by the student, a citation mut be provided using IEEE format.

Bibliography or References Format:

Students should provide a bibliography of all materials that is not their own work or part of the course material provided (e.g. instructor handouts, processes, slideshows, etc.).

Resources:

Electromechanical Engineering: Electrical Courses

Article Citation Guidelines:

Students should always cite, unless given explicit instructions to the contrary.

Image Citation Guidelines:

All images must be captioned and labeled. If the images have not been produced by the student, a citation must be provided using IEEE format.

Bibliography or References Format:

Students should provide a bibliography of all materials that are not their own work or part of the course material provided (e.g. faculty handouts, processes, slideshows, et.).

Resources:

Electromechanical Engineering: Mechanical Courses

Article Citation Guidelines:

If it is from the textbook that is used for the course or from the lecture material, no citation is required.

Image Citation Guidelines:

In the final report or lab, source of images/diagrams/pictures should be shown as reference, or a foot note on the same page.

Bibliography or References Format:

A list of references for papers/reports, presentations and projects are required. It is not needed for homework assignments.

Resources:

Engineering

Article Citation Guidelines:

Students should always cite, unless given explicit instructions to the contrary.

Image Citation Guidelines:

All images should be captioned and labeled. If the images have not been produced by the student, a citation must be provided using the format indicated by the faculty member.

Bibliography or References Format:

Students should provide a bibliography of all materials that are not their own work or part of the course material provided (e.g. instructor handouts, processes, slideshows, etc.).

Resources:
Please also refer to each concentration specific department for additional guidance.

Humanities and Social Sciences

Article Citation Format:

MLA (or at instructor's discretion, APA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.). Students are taught MLA in English I.

Image Citation Format:

Author/artist/maker, title, date, location (e.g. museum, site of original, etc.), source of reproduction used.

Bibliography or References Format:

Works Cited (MLA) is almost always expected for formal pieces of work, and full bibliography at instructor's discretion. All instructors will communicate expectations for each piece of work, usually listed on syllabus.

Resources:

Industrial Design

Article Citation Guidelines:

We use the MLA standard for citing work. Some projects require citations while others are the students' original work.

Image Citation Guidelines:

We use the MLA standard for citing work. Some projects require citations while others are the students' original work.

Bibliography or References Format:

Expectations will be communicated by each professor.

Resources:

Management

Article Citation Guidelines:

All citations should follow the APA or MLA format. Each course syllabi should contain further information on these guidelines or any variations from this expectation.

Image Citation Guidelines:

All images, diagrams, and pictures need to be attributed to the author or source using APA or MLA citations. Each course syllabi should contain further information on these guidelines.

Bibliography or References Format:

Students need to refer to the syllabus or individual assignment for guidance on bibliography requirements. This may vary by instructor and/or course so requesting this information from the instructor for assignments may be necessary.

Resources:

Interior Design

Article Citation Format:

Written work, such as papers, is required to include citations in MLA format as taught in Wentworth English classes.

Image Citation Format:

Students use images collected online or scanned from books/magazines as sources or inspiration or to help communicate a point. Those images may be pinned to a wall or presentation board, or otherwise informally displayed. There is no confusion that the images have an intended purpose other than that above and it is not possible for them to be presented as their own work. As such, labeling and citing are not required.

Bibliography or References Format:

All papers are expected to include a bibliography. It may be included in the instructions, but if it is not, students know that it is mandatory.

Resources:

Mechanical Engineering

Article Citation Guidelines:

If it is from the textbook that is used for the course or from the lecture material, no citation is required.

Image Citation Guidelines:

In the final report or lab, source of images/diagrams/pictures should be shown as reference, or a foot note on the same page.

Bibliography or References Format:

The reference for papers/reports, presentation and projects are required. It is not need for homework assignments.

Resources:

Sciences

Article Citation Format:

As a general rule of thumb, any work NOT authentic from a student should be cited. The only exception to this rule is "general knowledge," and this knowledge if derived from the course work would be assumed to have been known. For example, using a constant such as Newton's Gravitational Constant, using the periodic table in Chemistry does not need to be cited as this is general content of the course. Students should always cite information that has been obtained from external references. Failure to reference is considered plagiarism.

Image Citation Format:

Any image taken from the Internet, literature, protocol, lecture, other source should be cited. Figure legends should contain a figure number, relevant title, description and in-text citation.The complete citation is include in the appropriate area of the assignment.

Bibliography or References Format:

Since a large percentage of the material included in papers, reports, presentations, and projects is obtained from field research and consultation of the literature, a References section is mandatory. Failure to include this section in assignments results in deduction of points and in extreme cases, failure of the assignment. If these materials are NOT TO BE INCLUDED, it will be explicitly stated by the instructor. Thus, without any further information, it should be assumed that citations, etc., are required.