Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons: MGMT 2400: Business Research Methods: Where to Search

Get Background Information

CREDO Reference
Another great place for authoritative, expert entries from encyclopedias in all fields

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Read overviews on a topic written by subject experts. Most articles include a bibliography of reliable sources.

Library Resources

For all library resources, you'll use the library's homepage. For many resources, you'll be prompted to log in. DO NOT CREATE A NEW LOGIN because you already have one and that won't work anyway. Just USE YOUR WIT LOGIN, which is what you use to log in to your WIT e-mail and most everything else.

Library Search (EBSCO Discovery Service)
This is your best resource! This is how to search all of our resources in one place, including databases, articles, journals, e-books, videos, etc.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly journal articles in science and technology, the arts, medicine, education and more. Includes peer−reviewed and full-text sources, as well as 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Find business and financial information about private companies. You need to create an account apart from your WIT credentials, but it's worthwhile if you need information on a private company.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection (formerly Hoovers) This link opens in a new window
Provides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies, OxResearch, which features succinct articles covering significant economic and political developments of major significance from a network of over 1,000 faculty at Oxford, and Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries to 2008.
ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, country-and industry-focused reports and key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal.

Non-Library Resources

Data USA
Government data from multiple sources neatly organized in one place, including industry, occupation, population, and education information.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Under the "Subject" menu, you can find information about everything from how Americans spent their time to wages by age, area, and population.
Yahoo! Finance
Real-time stock information and searchable news articles that you can filter chronologically
Wolfram Alpha
This site literally crunches the numbers for you. It has a great many statistics from all disciplines and fields and you can even do side by side comparisions (e.g. of companies, wages, state data, country data, etc.)