HUMN 4345: History of American Folk Music

A searchable recording index of song titles and their performers

More than 68,000 recordings in a wide range of musical genres

Every audio recording made by Alan Lomax of world musical traditions from 1946-1990s.

Audio archive of a WMFU radio show which features cylinder and 78 rpm records played on vintage equipment.

Vintage 78 RPM recordings.

Includes the Alan Lomax Kentucky recordings and other traditional music audio files. (Berea College).

Gospel recordings (1945-1975) from the Royce Darden Collection at Baylor University.

An extensive collection of shape note field recordings. It contains examples of every song in the 1991 edition of 'The Sacred Harp'.

Ethnographic field recordings from around the world.

Folk music from European ethnic and English- and Spanish-speaking communities in Northern California.

Representative examples of pre-war blues, jazz, and folk music.

Immense online database containing audio files on all kinds of music.

Large audio, video, and print archive of Irish songs in English and in Irish.

A weekly radio show featuring country music selections from Joe Bussard's legendary 78 rpm record collection.

John Henegan and Eden Brower, of the East River String Band, present American and world music from R. Crumb's 78 rpm record collection.

Historical audio recordings that span the full range of American musical genres.

Historical recordings from Parchman Farm (1947).

Information on Scottish regional styles with audio files. Courtesy of the Scots Language Centre.

Nearly 700 sound recordings, as well as fieldnotes, dust jackets, and manuscripts.

Recordings from the early years of recorded sound (U of California, Santa Barbara).

A vast repository of historical recordings, images, and performances. Take care to ensure that the media item is accurately attributed.