Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wentworth Institute of Technology

Accelerate

Resources to build innovative and entrepreneurial thinking among Wentworth students

Materials Properties Articles, Databases, and Videos at WIT

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly, popular and trade articles. For example, try searching material properties and baseballs to learn about baseball materials or manufacturing.
Knovel Answers for Science and Engineering This link opens in a new window
Handbooks for engineering materials, including physical and chemical properties, thermodynamics, and corrosion data.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Searchable online materials library.

WIT Books and E-books on Material Properties & Selection

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook by James F. Shackelford
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2016
Exploring Materials: Creative Design for Everyday Objects by Inna Alesina; Ellen Lupton
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 1568987684
Publication Date: 2010
Life Cycle Assessment Handbook: A Guide for Environmentally Sustainable Products by Mary Ann Curran
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 1118099729
Publication Date: 2012
Materials and Design: The Art and Science of Material Selection in Product Design by Kara Johnson; Mike Ashby
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 0080982050
Publication Date: 2014
The Materials Sourcebook for Design Professionals by Rob Thompson; Martin Thompson
Call Number: Wentworth Reference 745.2 .T46mat 2017
ISBN: 9780500518540
Publication Date: 2017

Materials Resources on the Web

Cradle to Cradle
Certification system focused on a wide range of sectors (metals, fibers, dyes, plastics).
Fabrics Database
This database focuses on the cost, material properties, durability, and recyclability of fibers and fabrics found in corporate wear. Reports and case studies are also available.
MatWeb
A searchable database of material properties.

Materials Testing Standards

ASTM Standards
The print edition of the ASTM Standards may be found in the Library's Reference section (REF 620.112 .A87).

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2023 1:04 PM
URL: https://library.wit.edu/guides/accelerate
Print Page

Subjects: Course Guides, How To...

Tags: business management, design engineering, project management

Douglas D. Schumann Library & Learning Commons
Wentworth Institute of Technology
550 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115