Construction Management

Provides access to: CM/GC Guidelines for Public Owners; Highway CM/GC Best Practices; and CM At-Risk for Horizontal Projects.

This guide answers questions about using CM at Risk in Mass. public projects.

Explains the nature of CMR, and provides links to the Application to Proceed; CMR project lists; a report to the Mass. Senate on the use of CMR in the state; and model CMR documents and forms.

This article by Warner Strang looks at the pros and cons of CMR project delivery.

This Transportation Research Board synthesis report "explores current methods in which state departments of transportation and other public engineering agencies are applying construction manager-at-risk (CMR) project delivery to their construction projects. "

CM/General Contractor (aka CM@Risk) best practices and lessons learned from the Associated General Contractors of America.

This 2011 State of Mass. document provides construction firms with the information needed to employ CMR GMP delivery methods on public projects.

A sample RFP for a CM@R GMP project.

This excellent website offers RFP guidance for implementing Construction Manager Services at Risk with Guaranteed Maximum Price contracts for major capital projects.

A sample CMR GMP public works contract.

Explains the CM/GC project delivery method and provides enabling legislation, sample contract documents, and instruction resources.

Describes the collaborative funding of an automated people mover, termed the AirTrain, at John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York.

Describes the DBOM process, its risks and advantages, and mentions several projects that have successfully used this method of delivery.

This case study comes courtesy of the Bartlett School of Planning, University College, London (UK). It discusses the JFK Airtrain project, as well as the use of DBOM in its construction.

Free access to: Integrated Project Delivery For Public and Private Owners; IPD: Performance, Expectations, and Future Use; and Integrated Project Delivery: First Principles for Owners and Teams.

Examples of IPD use in construction projects.

This American Institute of Architects guide to IPD is freely available to those who fill out a survey form.

This 2011 article gives a brief overview of IPD, and provides a case study involving the Caltrans District 7 Headquarters in Los Angeles.

A brief introduction to the main principles and practices of Lean Construction.

A best practices guide to using lean principles to improve the management of projects.

A dictionary of Lean construction terminology from the Lean Construction Institute.

The A-3 Process is a structured problem-solving tool developed by Toyota Motors. It takes its name from the size of the printer paper it uses (11"x17"). Courtesy of Prof. Prof. D. Sobek of the University of Montana.

Provides a PPP overview, PPP basics, legislative issues, and considerations for contractors.

Examines the use of PPPs in the construction of the Confederation Bridge in Canada by SCDI, a private consortium. SCDI will operate and maintain the bridge for 35 years, before transferring it to the Canadian people.

IPD tools, expertise and financing for complex infrastructure projects.

Examines the use of public-private partnerships (PPP) in European transportation projects.

Considers the full life-cycle of PPPs, from development to execution to performance reporting.

Examines the cost-saving aspects of public-private partnerships (PPP) in transportation projects.

This article by Atty. Michael B. Donahue, of the law firm Duane Morris LLP, examines the implications of the court case Brasi Development Corp. v. Attorney General, et al. (2010).

The NCPPP is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to promoting PPPs and developing best practices for their use.

This World Bank website contains sample public-private partnership (PPP) agreements and concessions, checklists and sample clauses, terms of reference, risk matrices, standard bidding documents developed by government agencies and sample ppp and sector legislation and regulation

This report from the Office of the California State Treasurer examines the risks and benefits of privatization versus the use of PPPs in public contracting.

Contains sample public-private partnership (PPP) agreements and concessions, checklists and sample clauses, terms of reference, risk matrices, standard bidding documents developed by government agencies and sample PPP and sector legislation and regulation.

This is PPP guidebook comes courtesy of the United Nation Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)

Provides overviews and more in-depth documents on PPP. CM@Risk, Design-Bid-Build, Design-Build, Integrated Project Delivery, and Management and Procurement OPtions.

A brief overview of the most commonly used project delivery methods.

A survey of four project delivery systems: Design-Build (DB); Design-Bid-Build (DBB); Construction Manager at Risk (CMAR); and Integrated Project Delivery (IPD).

Introduces the construction management practice and describes how it can enhance the success of a project.

Analyzes the advantages and disadvantages of various project delivery methods for transit construction.

A joint publication by the American Subcontractors Association, the Association of General Contractors, and Associated Specialty Contractors, Inc.

This handy one-page brochure lays out the pros and cons of Design-Bid-Build; Design-Build; Construction Management Agency; Construction Management at Risk; and Integrated Project Delivery.

This federal handbook is geared toward agency officials but provides useful information on the proper management of construction projects.